Douglas County

Douglas County

Douglas County is located in western northern Nevada with the Sierra Nevada Mountain Range dividing the county. A majority of the county lies in a lush green valley bounded by monolithic mountain peaks and Lake Tahoe to the west and the vast Great Basin Desert to the east. Adjoining Douglas are the counties of Carson City and Lyon to the north and east, respectively.

Douglas County was established on November 25, 1861 and named after Senator Stephen Douglas, who opposed Abraham Lincoln in the 1860 election for President of the United States. Douglas County covers approximately 751 square miles (1,945 square kilometers) and accounts for approximately 0.7 percent of Nevada’s total surface area of 110,540 square miles (286,297 square kilometers).

The Schools
The Douglas County School District is committed to working in partnership with parents and community to ensure that all students are competent in the basic skill areas, demonstrate continuous achievement toward educational excellence, and reach their highest potential as productive, responsible citizens.

Douglas County School District serves the communities of Gardnerville, Minden, Genoa, and the Nevada side of Lake Tahoe (Stateline and Zephyr Cove). Nestled among the Sierra Nevada Mountains and the high desert sagebrush, our seven elementary schools, two middle schools, and three high schools provide over 7,000 students with a high quality education based upon District Competency Objectives and Nevada Academic Performance Standards. For complete school information, visit

Search Douglas County Real Estate Properties